Films Similar To Five Elements Ninja?

Shaolin_Fox

I have recently watched this movie, and I really liked it. I'm pretty new to things Shaw Bros., or almost anything having to do with MA films. So I was wondering if any of you guys know if there are any movies that are similar to Five Elements Ninja in terms of Swordplay, Wire work, Interior shooting and Choreography. I hope this helps me know more about SB films. I appreciate any help given.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I love that one too...have you seen some of the other venom picks?

5 Deadly Venoms

Kid with the Golden Arms

Crippled Avengers

ect...

Most if not all the"Venoms" movies.Magic Blade,Sentimental Swordsman series,The Master,Shaolin Intruders,Bastard Swordman series,Deadly Breaking Sword,Avenging Eagle are just some I can think of off the top of my head.

Ok what you want in terms of 5 Element Ninjas is...

The Lady Assassin (goreography and wires)

Legendary Weapons of China (wires and magic wide range of weaponry)

Secret Service of the Imperial Court (goreography and a good story)

Return of the Bastard Swordsman (if you want to see how Shaw does samurai action)

Masked Avengers (goreography and top notch weapons)

Heroes of the East (strictly for choreography ...no gore)

Of those 5 I think Masked Avengers is the safest bet.

Ninja in Ancient China (also directed by Chang Cheh)

Not one of his better films, but definitely similar (a re-make more-or-less) to Five Elements Ninjas. He filmed it on Mainland locations. Worth a look.

kungfusamurai

Look for Chang Cheh's other films, especially the ones with the Venoms actors (names like Lo Mang, Kuo Choi, Lu Feng, etc...); Lau Kar Leung's films (he directed 8 Diagram Pole Fighter, which is pretty violent and angry on a similar level to Fevel Elements Ninja). Heck, just go for any Shaw from 1978 to the early to mid 80s period.

KFS