your definition of a cult film

Guest punkdrummer87

Guest punkdrummer87

Hey there, I'm new to to the forum and I'm carrying out some research to assist with my University degree.

There is alot of ideas floating around as to what a cult film actually is, and i was wondering if users of this forum could expand upon what they think makes a cult film.

Cheers guys :)

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

A cult film is generally a movie that comes out and disappears from theaters rather quickly whether it be a big studio or independent production. Years pass and the film picks up steam from word of mouth from the chosen few who caught said movie in the theater or those who spied the VHS box in the video store. The ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW is possibly the best and most successful example of a cult film. Some cult films have a smaller fan base than others and sometimes an entire GENRE can be classified as a cult such as the kung fu genre for example or any genre of the fantastic from Italy including their horror, western and crime films. I have seen publications that even go so far as to include the STAR WARS trilogy as cult films but I don't see how you can do that considering those films are household names even amongst those who have not seen them. Pretty much everybody knows what STAR WARS is.

You're on very slippery slope here, it's a very open term the ultimate meaning of which is with the film's viewer/fan. The term itself suggests a meaning based on a particular reaction that the film inspired. Cult is something that attracts a strong and devoted following, with overtones of something that's odd or outside of the norm. The definition of a cult film could be twisted to include almost anything.