Shaw opinions?

gravedigger666

gravedigger666

Per?Venoms5?How are these;

The Lizard

Sentimental Swordsman

Web Of Death

..trailers look pretty decent but before forking out cash would like to hear experts:p opinion.

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I can't speak for others but I'm no expert. Everybody's opinions, likes or dislikes vary from person to person. What I do is read up on the movie first, check who the director is, the stars, etc...and take it from there. Generally, there's something of interest in mediocre Shaw movies. But below are my thoughts on your picks...

THE LIZARD (1972) is a decent Chu Yuan modern day Robin Hood style story with Yueh Hua as the title thief and Lo Lieh as the villain. Mega star Connie Chen Po Chu is gorgeous here and this is probably the only movie I've seen her in but I understand from others familiar with her career she was quite the popular figure in HK back then for non-action film roles. The movie has a fairly light hearted tone throughout but gets violent and a little bloody during the finale. Also the opening sex scene depicting a naked non Chinese woman is totally out of place with the rest of the film barring the finale. A decent movie but nothing overly spectacular. I'd only recommend it to somebody interested in the non swordplay work of Chu Yuan or serious fans of Lo Lieh or Yueh Hua.

THE SENTIMENTAL SWORDSMAN (1977) is a right interesting and popular Chu Yuan romantic swordsman flick. The usual beautiful set design is present, some nice snow bound sets and even some location shots. I kind of prefer the sequel just a little bit over this one but that's mainly due to Fu Sheng's serious performance there and the sequel was an even bigger success than the first. Fans of Ti Lung and Derek Erh take note. SENTIMENTAL SWORDSMAN is definitely worth having and isn't quite as convoluted as some others.