I just watched 'Bastard Swordsman'..

Kung Foolery

and thought it blew.

Mind you, Im new to these movies. Im getting a feel of what Shaw Bros movies I like/dislike.

This one don't do it for me.

I understand there is a little suspension of disbelief in all these flicks, but this was a little too silly for me.

The kung fu was alright, but the silliness was out of control.

Silkworm style?? Come on now!

And all the flying around and other nonsense (when I can see the wires, forget about it!), it reminded me of The Exorcist when Reagan floated above the bed, lol.

Anyway, not my cup of tea. Give me 5 Shaolin Masters (the last one I watched) any day of the week over this.

Who feels me?

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I can understand where your coming from, it sounds like you prefer the more realistic action.

Try out some of Lau Kar Leung's work especially Eight Diagram Pole Fighters one of my all time favourites!

Yang Wu Liang

I can't agree, I'd prefer wuxia to standard shapes or P & B any day of the week, still each to his own. Bastard Swordsman is definately not one for the 'wire deniers' but it's one of my favourites!