Late Spring - Kabuki

Guest Tosh

I've become very interested in Kabuki over the years, it all started after watching the scene in Kagemusha, being a musician I've grown very bored of most Western music styles (rock/hiphop) and have grown fond of more traditional Asian insturments and musicals, after doing a google search looking for the kabuki scene in Kagemusha I found this scene from Late Spring(1949) -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Hxu73Dki3g

I noticed they just released this, I've always watched more Samurai related films, and realize this wont have limbs being hacked off and blood spraying everywhere, but this looks like a classic, any opinions?

• Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest Mr. Vampire

Ozu's films are usually good... :P If you have patience... for the depth. They're more modern-era real-life drama films, which I usually can't unwind with. I am more into the jidai-geki stuff from the 50's and 60's, they have a smattering of this sort of 'opera' or folk songs. Then again I also think the 60's and 70's Yakuza eiga are very theraputic in a way.

So what do you play then? I took a left turn form the western world of music in the late 80's and study and play a variety of eastern music, mostly near and mid... It's harder to kind people that are knowledgeable about Chinese and Japanese music in the upper midwest.

Guest vengeanceofhumanlanterns

I absolutely love traditional japanese music. Actually, any solo w/vocals or not, japanese instrumentation, Biwa etc., is awesome stuff in my book.