Does the type of necklace in The Big Boss, have cultural significance?

Omni Dragon

I'm assuming it must, but still I don't think I've personally ever seen it discussed anywhere before.

Edited by Omni Dragon

6d6e8c15084d4c2a9637421a3050c4bd.jpg

I'm not an expert but I think it's a Jade necklace which going by googles means:

"Jade symbolism includes associations with nobility and wealth. Many consider it a protector of generations, living and dead. Jade has been and always will be the "Gem Supreme" and the "Jewel of Heaven," stone of the heart."

• Like 2

I always figured it just belong to his mom and she gave it to him so he would remember his promise not to fight anymore. I’m not sure if there is a deeper meaning to it than that.

• Like 4

10 hours ago, DarthKato said:

I always figured it just belong to his mom and she gave it to him so he would remember his promise not to fight anymore. I’m not sure if there is a deeper meaning to it than that.

That was my impression too.however he punches 2 thugs before jade gets broken🤔

• Like 2

7 hours ago, ChillyChong said:

He was just having a stretch. Not his fault someone's face happened to connect with his fist at time of said stretch. :P

• Like 1
  • Haha 3

4 hours ago, PandaPawPaw said:

He was just having a stretch. Not his fault someone's face happened to connect with his fist at time of said stretch. :P

Lol😆

I think it might be a Bi jade: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bi_(jade)

Not to sure about this video, made by people selling jewelry, but still I thought I'd include it anyway:

Bi jades seem to be mostly associated with the sky/heaven. That could be why Chow Yun Fat's character wears one in Wild Search, as it belonged to his deceased wife in the story.

23 hours ago, DarthKato said: