Old School Beginner's Shelf

Rodolphe Dux

Rodolphe Dux

Here's a post to established a beginner's shelf of old school martial arts movies. If you’re a beginner you can try any of the movie in the list below.

Feel free to add a suggestion, I'll add the titles to the list below. Thanks!.

Level 1, absolute beginner:

- Snake in eagle's shadow (http://hkmdb.com/db/movies/view.mhtml?id=5863&display_set=eng), available in DVD and Blu-ray.

- Fist of fury

- Drunken master

- The Odd Couple

- Dance of the drunk mantis

- Master of the flying guillotine

- Warriors Two

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply
TibetanWhiteCrane

I have always recommended stuff in increments, slowly ramping up to the deeper and more esoteric stuff.

Like say you have Starter pack: level 1- Fist of Fury. King Boxer. Heroes of the East. Invincible Shaolin. Magnificent Butcher. Drunken Master or Snake in the Eagle's Shadow.... easily palatable stuff like that.

Then after that, level 2 with stuff like Five Venoms. The 36th Chamber of Shaolin. Legend of a Fighter. Ninja in the Dragon's Den etc. and slowly ease them into different performers, studios, genres and so forth.

I've found that if you start people out with some Chor Yuen wuxia or Spooky Encounters with all its supernatural content, some (not all) are scared off. So go with the basic stuff, and maybe try and remember your own journey and how it worked for you.

Rodolphe Dux
1 hour ago, TibetanWhiteCrane said:

I have always recommended stuff in increments, slowly ramping up to the deeper and more esoteric stuff.

Like say you have Starter pack: level 1- Fist of Fury. King Boxer. Heroes of the East. Invincible Shaolin. Magnificent Butcher. Drunken Master or Snake in the Eagle's Shadow.... easily palatable stuff like that.

Then after that, level 2 with stuff like Five Venoms. The 36th Chamber of Shaolin. Legend of a Fighter. Ninja in the Dragon's Den etc. and slowly ease them into different performers, studios, genres and so forth.