Posterist: Documentary about Old-School Movie-Poster Artist Yuen Tai-Yung

DragonClaws

Posterist [71 mins]

posterist01
Posterist, a Taiwanese film on a reclusive movie poster artist by director Hui See-wai. Photo: SCFF

Posterist is a film about Yuen Tai-Yung a self-taught Chinese artist who has hand-painted more than 200 iconic movie posters. Yuen is known for his knack for distilling the essence of a movie to one scene.

In a career that spans more than a decade, Yuen has created posters for movies starring mega stars such as Bruce Lee, Chow Yun-fat, Jackie Chan and Stephen Chow during the golden era of Hong Kong cinema.

“When I made movies, I wish he [Yuen] could draw my posters,” says veteran Hong Kong actor Kenny Bee, one of the interviewees of the documentary.

Posterist is a passion project for director Hui See-wai, who documented his interactions with Yuen over a period of 12 months.

There will be a post-screening Q&A with director Hui See-wai. Posterist is shown back-to-back with Wind, a documentary on the extraordinary life of Hong Kong cinematographer Christopher Doyle.

For more information about Yuen Tai-Yung and his trade, and his search for new artists/talent, where are you @KUNG FU BOB?, please click on the link below, thank you.

Link- http://www.atimes.com/article/taiwanese-painter-keeps-traditions-alive/

Image, taken from the above article.

chuan-mei.jpg

• Like 2

6c61070e-ab0c-11e6-a45e-e639c32a4ac5_128

Film review: The Posterist is must-see for fans of Hong Kong cinema’s golden age

Hui See-wai’s tribute to the artist who painted some of the industry’s most iconic movie posters may be a bit one-note, but it’s a worthy nostalgia trip for fans.

Link- https://www.scmp.com/culture/film-tv/article/2046208/film-review-posterist-must-see-fans-hong-kong-cinemas-golden-age

You can order the R3 DVD of this docuemtnary, from YesAsia.Com