The Kung Fu Kid (1977) - Lo Wei

Cheng Li

The Kung Fu Kid (1977)

Alright, this is my first try to write something like a review of a movie or some kind of introduction to something that might encourage people to waste money on it and put it on their shelves next to the other hundreds and thousands of movies. I'm honest, I'm just getting into Martial Arts/Kung Fu movies and I'm absolutely not knowledgeable in this part of cinema history so no fancy background facts or associations with other Kung Fu movies, just my thoughts that I somehow scrapped together after I watched that particular movie. Who knows, maybe if I find it enjoyable to write about movies and you're thinking that my review was somewhat bearable than..maybe there'll be some more reviews in the future.

Enough blabla lets get to the movie:

The Kung Fu Kid from 1977 directed by Lo Wei. I don't know Lo Wei but hkmdb says that he directed a lot of movies and was an actor in even more movies so I'm sure that I'll see him again in my cinematic journey.

The movie starts with a woman who screams, according to the subtitles, which are by the way somewhere between "Ah I get it, I can follow the story" and "Oh my god please, why are they using first graders to translate a movie", "Thief! Thief!" ah yeah we're in the middle of a robbery. Of course the woman who gets robbed is totally dizzy after screaming straight into the camera and spinning together with the cameraman for a few seconds, so there is no way she could catch that thief. The thief is not some random HongKong-punk no he's our star of the movie: Fang Min played by Michael Chan Wai-Man, again I don't know who that actor is but hkmdb says that he likes to play in countless movies so, see you soon Michael!