Stuff I can't get into anymore

NoKUNGFUforYU

NoKUNGFUforYU

I just can't watch the straight to video martial arts stuff- Seagal, Van Damme, etc. Even some of the newer guys just don't interest me. I'll watch Borne fight scenes or Bond, and honestly, they don't have as much skill, but I just can't muster the strength to watch caucasian krotty. And I'm a white guy! Anyway, it's probably the production values, and stories. I spent a lot of years getting wasted and watching that stuff, so maybe I just reached capacity. Like listening to Led Zepplin to many times- it's great, but I just got tired of it

Now it's just the classics. Anyone feel the same?

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yeah, until very recently, I have pretty much stayed away from modern martial arts cinema that isn't Donnie Yen, The Raid, etc.. I am just beginning I explore Adkins a bit, just watched universal soldier and thought it was decent. Although the fights in this are pretty rough too.

Yeah, Bond and Bourne may not be skilled, but the fights work, I suppose it's like the difference between bashers and shapes in a way.. That and those movies are just much better in any other way compared to DTV ma flicks, lol.

The Raid films, Undisputed 2 & 3 and Ninja films with Scott Adkins to name some. These new films are duplicating the old HK style to the point that makes me less motivated to try being appreciative. Would rather go back to the roots where the style was new and exciting to watch

shaolin swords

never really got into the modern martial arts movies always kept it in the 60s,70s,80s, its something in those eras that are just special and cant be duplicated no matter who directs it or stars in movies from the 90s 00s it just don't come close just my opinion :nerd:

I enjoyed The Raid 1 and felt the use of Silat made it stand out, and it was pretty brutal. I didn't like the 2nd one much, and haven't seen anything else you mentioned.