Shaw Brothers and zoom lenses?!

waywardsage

So...

I watched The Flag of Iron and was pretty floored at the amount of zooms in the film! I know the Shaw Directors were fans of the zoom, but dang! I think I counted at least 30+ snap zooms in the film.

Why were the Shaw directors such fans of zooms? I don't think I have ever noticed a dolly or crane shot. I may be wrong about that. But they really liked snapping zooms in most of their shots.

Does anyone know what camera's and lenses that most of the Shaw films were shot with? I'm a filmmaker, so this sorta interests me.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply
masterofoneinchpunch

Chang Cheh used the zoom pretty effectively, some directors are better with the effect than others. It is important to think about when to use a zoom in and a zoom out, when it is effective, when it is not. The technique was copied and sometimes very badly used by other directors.

Well ShawScope is 35 mm anamorphic format.

I like this quote from David Bordwell's Planet Hong Kong:

Now the much-maligned zoom shot makes

sense. The zoom’s primary role—enlarging a portion

of a scene rapidly, or demagnifying part in

order to show the entire context—is to provide

spatial information. In swordfight and kung-fu

films, however, that aim is often secondary to

matters of rhythm and expressivity. A fast zoom

often plays out the pause/burst/pause pattern:

fixed view, whip in to a detail, hold on it. The

zoom often establishes a fight scene’s tempo. Typically

one shot ends with a zoom in to a fighter’s

face or arms or legs. Then we cut to a close view

of the opponent before immediately and rapidly

zooming out. The zoom can be timed around a

blow as well, underscoring its force, or singling it

out as the decisive one, or even reinforcing a pulse

linking one punch to another (Figs. 8.76–8.78). In

Yuen Woo-ping’s Dance of the Drunk Mantis, the

old master and his pupil are cartwheeling around