So much Kung Fu.

Kadaver

So recently Ive been getting really into Kung Fu movies and before long I was searching to find which ones could be the best or which ones were good. Some of my search results ended badly, while some ended up good. When I found this site I was greatly pleased to see your list of best classic martial arts films. This led me to the Prodigal Son (One of my favorites now) and many others. But my question is this.

Seeing as Im new to actively going to watch these awesome movies, are there any ones I should deffinetly watch? Which ones must be seen by anyone that calls themselves a fan of the Kung Fu genre? And what happened to Jackie Chan? How did he go from Drunken Master to Shanghai Noon?!

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply
One Armed Boxer

Hi Kadaver...welcome to the forum! Great to see somebody who discovered the kung-fu movie world! These threads are normally dangerous though as, without offending anyone, there are people on these forums who have seen so many hundreds of thousands of kung-fu movies, that when I`ve seen these threads appear in the past some of the movies being suggested to watch for newcomers have just been complete head-scratchers for me, or on a mission to mention movies others haven`t, more minor movies of performers like Jackie Chan & Sammo Hung mysteriouly appear on lists.

Based on you enjoyng `Prodigal Son`, I`ll try to recommend 5 of the best for you to check out by actor or director. I`ll point out that they`re not in any particular order.

1. Warriors Two - This is from the same guys that brought you `Prodigal Son`, and the main martial art being used is also Wing Chun. Sammo Hung directs and also co-stars, and Yuen Biao is replaced with Korean superkicker Cassanova Wong, hard to go wrong!