New to Japanese Cult cinemaAny recommendations to get me started?

Richie Freebird

Richie Freebird

Hello, I’m new to the genre and also new to this forum. I’ve been a fan of Kung Fu movies for a while and am interested in branching into some of the classic Japanese Samurai movies. Can anyone recommend a couple of the best titles to get me started on the genre? Thanks very much for your help.

Richie

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Richie Freebird: This is a question we get a lot, but if I were you I'd start with the best of the best in Japanese cinema, that would be Lone Wolf & Cub: the 6 part movie series: But don't get the English dubbed verision, see it with the Japanese language track with English subtitles, then you can watch Shogun Assassin this is a combined movie of the 1st. (2) in Lone Wolf & Cub series but its English Dubbed. This was to many people on here there 1st. Samurai movie they have ever seen. When you get done with them, just review some of the older post on here and you'll see a lot of great reviews on Japanese cinema about Samurai/Ninja movies.

Here's a short list of awesome Japanese period action films that I've enjoyed:

Seven Samurai (number one priority!)

Yojimbo

Throne of Blood

Zatoichi (the 2003 film with Takeshi Kitano is really accessible and fun)

G.I. Samurai (this also has some sci-fi elements because modern day troops get sent back to the warring states period, but it's a lot of fun and Sonny Chiba's performance is great)

Lone Wolf and Cub

The Twilight Samurai

If you don't mind crossing over to anime as well, I highly recommend Ninja Scroll (the movie, not the TV series), Basilisk, Shigurui, Samurai Champloo and Rurouni Kenshin: Trust and Betrayal.

Guest WuxiaFan

Richie Freebird - welcome in! :smile: