Pretty New to the Genre (Need Recomendations)

Jd84

Hello all. I have been viewing through the forums for a few days and decided to join the site. I am fairly new to the Kung Fu Genre. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions to get me started? I am pretty familiar with some of the Mainstream Shaw brother movies, but have not seen many of them. I look forward to everyone's recommendations.

Thanks!

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Any of the Shaw reissue DVDs with commentary tracks are good starting points. Look for these:

MediaBlasters

1)Heroes Two

2)The Brave Archer

Dragon Dynasty

1)Come Drink with Me

2)The One-Armed Swordsman

3)My Young Auntie

4)Heroes of the East

5)The 36th Chamber of Shaolin

6)The Five Deadly Venoms

Happy shopping!:wink:

ShaOW!linDude

Welcome, jd84!

Well, there's a lot of good stuff out there. Here's a few:

Jackie Chan

Drunken Master*

Fearless Hyena

Spiritual Kung Fu

Police Story*

Heart of Dragon

Miracles*

Sammo Hung

Iron-Fisted Monk

Close Encounters of a Spooky Kind*

The Victim

Two Warriors

Eastern Condors*

Yuen Biao

Dreadnaught

The Prodigal Son*

The Iceman Cometh

Righting Wrongs/Above the Law*

Chan/Hung/Biao

Project A (1 & 2 though 2 is all Chan)*

Dragons Forever*

My Lucky Stars

Twinkle, Twinkle, Lucky Stars*

Shanghai or Millionaire's Express (no Chan)

Others:

Master Killer

Heroes of the East*

Legendary Weapons of Kung Fu

Thundering Mantis

The Buddhist Fist*

That's like 25 and those films aren't even current. The folks here will weigh in with more, I'm sure. You won't feel badgered or belittled in the slightest. We're all lovers of the genre and this is a forum to pool resources and share knowledge. We don't know much but we know good kung fu!

* indicate what I think would be priorities on this list.