what movies should I buy if I dislike wire fu?

soulkiss

I've been collecting martial arts films for about 2 years now, and although I watched a lot of them as a child, its been that long since I've seen many of them, and I don't remember the names of my old favorites.

I'm not a fan of wire fu movies like Crouching Tiger, and much prefer Chang Cheh and Lau Kar Leung films. Here's what I own, so far:

The Master (3 Evil Masters)

Challenge of the Masters

Flag of Iron

Five Element Ninjas

Deadly Duo

Martial Club

Kid With the Golden Arm

5 Deadly Venoms

Return of the 5... (Crippled Avengers)

36th Chamber

Return to the 36th...

Heroes of the East

Fist of Legend

the Enforcer (My Dad is a Hero)

Enter the Dragon

Fist of Fury

Chinese Connection

Way of the Dragon

Rush Hour

Rush Hour 2

the One

Unleashed

I also own Once Upon a Time in China 1, 2, & 3 but haven't watched them yet. Now, I know there's a little wire fu in the Venom Mob movies & recent Jet Li stuff, but not like in the Legend of Fong Sai Yuk. I'm wondering about specific movies (My Young Auntie, Come Drink with Me, One-Armed Swordsman), but would love to hear other suggestions. I'm brand new to this board, btw.

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You need to check out the works of Sammo Hung and Yuen Wo Ping:

Sammo:

The Victim

The Prodigal Son

Warriors Two

Knockabout

Wo Ping:

Legend of a Fighter

Snake in the Eagles Shadow

Drunken Master

Dance of the Drunken Mantis

Maybe you could also try to check out some of the early bashers like Bloody Fists or Rage of the Wind..

kungfusamurai