What's your favourite Samurai film?

Omni Dragon

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply
BlackLamaFaction

That's a tough one. I could narrow it to maybe 5.

Full Circle Killing

Shoguns Samurai: The Yagyu Conspiracy

Goyokin

Yojimbo

Lone Wolf and Cub 3: Baby Cart to Hades (The Absolute best of the series)

and of course The Sword of Doom

Is "Full Circle of Killing" also known as "Sleepy Eyes Of Death 3"??

I gotta look some of these bad boys up!!

I'm a Samurai film novice...so my top one is Seven Samurai. I know I know...that's probably like a given in this category.

masterofoneinchpunch

Absolute favorite would be Yojimbo followed by Seppuku (Harakiri) -- get the Criterion editions of both of these. Yojimbo/Sanjuro just came out on blu-ray last week on Criterion.

I've liked so much with Tatsuya Nakadai and/or Toshiro Mifune it is hard to pick though.

BlackLamaFaction
Is "Full Circle of Killing" also known as "Sleepy Eyes Of Death 3"??

I gotta look some of these bad boys up!!

I'm a Samurai film novice...so my top one is Seven Samurai. I know I know...that's probably like a given in this category.

Yeah, Full Circle is part 3 of Sleepy Eyes. It's by far the most violent and in my opinion the best of the series. Animeigo has realesed the first 4 films in excellent quality on DVD. I think 5-8 comes out this summer. 9-12 I don't know, hopefully soon because these films are really hard to find in good quality like this.

BlackLamaFaction: I also hope that Animeigo releases 9-12 but if they don't Merlin over at SamuraiDVD.com did in fact get remastered copies and subtitle the entire series plus he got #13&14 that were made after Raizo's death and they were great movies also that you should add to your collection, to complete the series.